I was raised by parents that were almost by definition  against anything concerning computers or the internet. This negativism had everything to do with not knowing “the enemy”.  When I first got to know the medium, I was rather afraid of it too: my children were growing up, and you heard so much about the dangers of the medium. Bit by bit I learned about the world-wide web. There are still a lot of dangers left I think, specially for young people who don’t have the chance to get to know the medium  in a positive way.

There is a positive side to it, even a very positive in my opinion. I see so much good and creative ideas on the net , launched by idealistic young people. These idealists were there before too of course, but if and when they had a world-changing idea, they talked about it to their best friends and in most of the times, after a small period of time the idea simply died. Now, you can launch your ideas on the www, and if by any chance somewhere on the other side of the globe someone thinks the same, you can get connected, and if the idea has a real chance of changing the world, it will not die, it will grow.

If you are thinking that bad idea’s has just as much opportunities to grow on the www, I must admit you are right. But still… I think this is the first time in history a good idea inside of the head of an invisible  individual can grow to be a world-wide solution for worldwide problems. So we should embrace the opportunity.

Some examples of positive vibes I recently came across:

http://www.letsdoitworld.org/

and the example that for sure works: I know because I’m part of it!!

http://www.couchsurfing.org/

